The Day I Died (Actually by a couple of authors.)

Posted: August 16, 2010 in Random
Tags: ,

It’s weird how I’m writing this story.  To put it frankly, Dead People don’t write.  Their Dead.  However, I am one of those few exceptions.

It was actually a quite miraculous day.  I remember it like it just happened, and I assure you, it didn’t.

It started out in the early hours of the morning.  I specifically remember waking up.  Some unseen noise had sounded and woke me into a panic.  My eyes shot open.  The moonlight had started to flood through my window and it spilled onto my floor.  Had I not put the blinds down when I went to sleep?  Had I even put them up the day before?  I couldn’t remember.

I was just about to fall back asleep when I heard the sound again.  It was a loud mechanical sound coming from below me.  It was probably just an old fire alarm and it’s batteries were probably about dead.

I decided I should go and get it before it woke anyone else up.  I crept down the stairs to the main floor.  It beeped again.  It was obviously coming from somewhere in my basement.

Now, a lot of people would have been fine going to their basement.  I, however, am not.  At least, not in the middle of the night.  You see, our basement is unfinished.  The bare cement walls are always radiating the cold toward you, there are huge stacks of insulation on the very sides of the hallways, and there was a deep dark pocket under the stairs that always made you wonder what lived there.

I slowly made my approach down the stairs.  When my feet hit the cold concrete floor, I knew I was in for a surprise.  I couldn’t see a thing.   All of the sudden,  I heard a noise.  There were footsteps slapping across the floor.  When I turned on the lights, no one appeared to be there.  Everything seemed to be in the correct spot.  Just as I was headed back to the stairs, the lights went out and someone had hit me from behind.  Luckily it wasn’t enough to knock me out.  I got up and ran towards the direction of the stairs.  Once more, my mysterious pursuers knocked me down.

This time I jumped up and I could just barely make out the intruders profile.  That was about when my cougar reflexes kicked in.  I remembered my CHUCK NORRIS skills.  I pulled off an ultra fast Round-House-Kick-To-The-Face.  I am , SO, sure it looked pretty sweet with my Bad Boy PJ’s on. He fell to the ground and didn’t get back up.  I cheered sweet victory and headed for the stairs.  As I did, I ran into the cement wall and was knocked out cold.

The next thing I remember was when I woke up and found myself dead.  I found myself dead.  I know, what a crappy ending.  I don’t even know how I died.  Now nobody ever will.

Comments
  1. Liz says:

    Interesting Story. I didn’t know basements could be so terrifying. Also, you used the WRONG KIND OF THEY’RE. It should have been THEY’RE and you used Their. Bad news. 🙂

    http://polkadotsock.wordpress.com

  2. Mikayla says:

    haha this makes me laugh :)!!! I have to tell dani about this she’d love it.

  3. hollynew says:

    Defiantly a new approach to a story, i liked it. I do believe however that you could have ended it differently, sorry. maybe have had the dead person like see the killer disposing of his body or something. but up till the end i very much enjoyed it.

  4. Danny says:

    Liz, first off, thanks. Second off, I’m sorry I used the wrong kind of they’re. I’ll try harder next time.

    Thanks Holly! I know what you mean about the end. It leaves a little too much mystery. I personally think that I rushed the end and so that’s why it wasn’t as good as it could have been.

  5. esteldreaming says:

    A very enjoyable read, rather funny in that dark sort of a way. I think the word “basement” is used too many times in the paragraph beginning with “I slowly made..”

Leave a Reply

