Random Introduction

Posted: October 19, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

It all started with a dream. I specifically remember standing in a field. The air was stale with smell of rotting plants. It was as if you could watch the plants grown and die, right before your eyes. As it turned out time didn’t work.
As I stood there, I noticed something move. As I turned my head to look at it, I saw something else. It was coming at me fast. I had two choices to choose from: I could run, or I could jump. If I ran, then they would probably outrun me anyway. If I jumped, they would just bite my legs off.
Too late of course, I chose to run. By the time my mind kicks into reflexes and I start to run, I am thrown off my feet by one of the things.
The air came out of me in one big gush of air, as I flew through the air time seemed to slow down. I was slowly doing an spiral like aerial towards a stone wall. I could see the two beast backs also moving through the grasses. Trees fell down and disintegrated before my eyes. Just as a willow tree started to fall I felt a sharp pain rise up into my chest. I landed hard and rolled the rest of the way into the wall.
The metallic taste of blood flooded my mouth. I was about to sink into unconsciousness when the foulest thing I have ever smelled flowed into my nose. It put my whole body into convulsive fits. As I was convulsing I got a couple of glances at my attackers. (Luckily they were the same ones as before)
The first one I saw made me think of an oversized grease monkey. He was a large man with small squinty eyes and a large pot belly. A tooth poked out of his mouth at a jagged angle. His pointed tail waved back and forth and his feet…his feet were monstrous! Wait was that a tail I just saw. I took a couple more steps back. The second attacker could only be described as one thing, oversized mutated bulldog human that had recently lost a bar fight.
Both of the offenders stood there holding long curved blue knives. I, on the other hand, had nothing. I grabbed the first thing that I felt, which of course happened to be nothing other than a flimsy branch. I searched around the ground one more time and felt a good sturdy stick. I grabbed it and tried to get off the ground but pain in my legs overwhelmed me. Both creatures shuffled over to me. They both glared at me. I couldn’t escape, there was a stone wall to my back and two huge creepy looking… things… to my front. Both tensed and then pounced.
I was scared to death not knowing what to do. Then a thought came into my mind, at school I had been learning about double attacks. This was obviously my first encounter . I was trying to quickly think through all of the defensive strategies I had learned. As I decided which move I should make, I noticed that the creatures were closer than they had been before. They hit me over the head and blackness over took me.
I woke up possibly hours later. It was all just a dream. Because of the hit on the head (in the dream) , a dull pain resided over my entire body. I felt like my stomach was literally about to come back out of my mouth, and I was sure that my foot was twisted at least seven-hundred-twenty degrees. As I lay there, I remembered what had happened. It must just be side effects from my mind thinking I was hurt.
I tried to bring my head up but the pain knocked my brain around. Blackness threatened to take over again. I waited for a little while more. I was about to try to look up again, when I heard footsteps and breathing. I tried to play dead as to not let the creature see I was conscious.
“Matt. Matt, Matt, Matt.” A familiar voice started to talk. “I thought you were better than that. I thought I had taught you how to defend yourself. I specifically remember giving you the textbook on NOT freaking out in battle. What happened out there?”
I brought my head up to see my teacher, Mr. Siqy. That was when my whole first term of schooling came back to me.
“Sorry Matt, but you have failed.”
Oh… that’s right… it wasn’t a dream… it was my mid-term.

Comments
  1. Allie says:

    That is the best story ever than from the others that you wrote

  2. Sydney says:

    That was really good. Just a few things here and there that could use some fixing up, all and all It was really good. 🙂 Keep it up.

  3. Kyle Jacobson says:

    Hey, great stuff. One helpful hint: When using first person, one thing to avoid is the amount of times you use the pronoun “I”. Just maybe go through and circle every time you use “I” and it will help you become aware of it.

  4. Allie says:

    Oh I will

  5. Danny says:

    Thanks Sydney! I’ll keep it in mind.

    Kyle, my English teacher just pointed something like that out. Weird how that works… Anyway, thanks for telling me. I’ll make sure to check on that next time!

    Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

